A List of My Experiences in America – Racial Intolerance & More

So this summer was my third time visiting the United States and it was just a casual vacation. We were hoping to catch a glimpse of some historical sites and national parks. Fortunately, we got what we were looking for despite some disappointment but I’ll talk more about that in a different post.

We toured the northwestern states which included Wyoming, Montana, and Idaho. Those states aren’t populated but they seem to have a lot of tourists admiring the environment. Apparently the state of Montana has a population of around 1.024 million whereas the Canadian city that I’m from has a population of more than 1.2 million. So while we were expecting a dense population, we were met with farms and fields of barley.

As a Canadian that doesn’t frequently visit America, I thought that America was overpopulated. Not as much as India or China but still suffering from overpopulation. I was partly wrong. There are some towns in Montana where people would raise their eyebrows if they saw someone with a different skin colour. It’s unfortunate because America is supposed to embrace diversity. Other states where immigrants flock to are in a better state because people have gotten used to diversity. Call me a newbie when it comes to travelling but here are a couple of points that I’d like to make.

1. One of my previous post had a picture of Walmart in both countries. Even though the Canadian city had a larger population than the entire state, a Walmart in the middle of Montana was 2.4 times bigger.

2. This is noticeable when crossing the Canadian/American border with a car. It’s that the roads are narrower in America. I heard that Canadian roads are about 1.4-6 times wider, something along those lines.

3. I experienced racial intolerance and this was actually the first time. It wasn’t direct racism so it wasn’t serious or life threatening. Just worth mentioning.

4. American flags were very common. Canadians flags were also common near the border but I think they were intentionally put up for the Americans to view.

5. Lots of motorcycles in America. They’re mostly out on a group ride.

6. Canada limits itself to only 2-3 ready to make popcorn brands. America has more than 7 brands to choose from. Not that surprising since this happens to other products as well.

7. During a 5 day period, not once did I hear someone say sorry. It’s probably because there was no need to but I was just accustomed to hearing it in Canada.

8. Meals are cheaper, bigger in proportion, and a little saltier in America.

9. Alcohol is also sold with groceries in America and that doesn’t happen in Canada. Not that surprising since other countries do it such as Korea.

10. Bicycle helmet laws aren’t strictly enforced in some states.

11. Tattoos of swastika and paraphernalia of other absurd symbols. It was rare but it was certainly my first time seeing something like that.

12. Drive thru banks have multiple stalls in America. Canada usually has one or two and we just make a big line.

13. We felt there were too many tourists since we had less tourists in Canada’s national parks.

14. “Firearms Prohibited” signs were a little unsettling. I don’t think there were any in Canada so it was a little frightening at first.

15. “No drones” signs were also present at the location of the National parks.

16. We were having to use the GPS to stay within the speed limit because we weren’t accustomed to the imperial system.

That is it for now. I mostly enjoyed my time in the States and I’d love to go back for another vacation. In my upcoming posts, I will talk about Yellowstone National Park and what it was like. Maybe I’ll compare it to one of Canada’s national parks.

5 thoughts on “A List of My Experiences in America – Racial Intolerance & More

Leave a Reply

